We Asked 83 NU Students, Faculty, and Staff Why They Write and These Are Their Responses

The Writing Center celebrated The National Day on Writing in style and on trend. We asked people passing outside Snell Library why they write and got responses that ran the gamut from serious (because it helps societies advance) to lighthearted (because #puns). We loved seeing your responses and sharing them on Twitter, where over 33,000 people shared their reasons with the hashtag #WhyIWrite.

 

northeastern writing center
“Because you can create UNIVERSES with your fingers. Yeah.”

 

northeastern writing center
“I write to make sense of things.”
northeastern writing center
“It keeps my brain happy!”
northeastern writing center
“Responsibility.”

IMG_5028 (1)

“To reflect on the messy realities of everyday life.”
northeastern writing center
“Because it lifts you up like a balloon!”
northeastern writing center
“School obligation, G.P.A.”
northeastern writing center
“To raise awareness about organ donation”
northeastern writing center
“To express my thoughts.”
northeastern writing center
“I write to discover what I’m thinking.”
northeastern writing center
“I write to laugh!”
northeastern writing center
“I write games, which tell stories.”
northeastern writing center
“Because I need to remember!”
northeastern writing center
“We get lost and find ourselves again.”
northeastern writing center
“To make money for the future.”
northeastern writing center
“Because I love reading.”
northeastern writing center
“Sometimes it can be fun.”
northeastern writing center
“To fight the inevitable heat death of the universe.”
northeastern writing center
“Self-expression.”
northeastern writing center
“Because I love to tell stories.”
northeastern writing center
“Because my jokes deserve to be forever recorded.”
northeastern writing center
“Self Expression.”
northeastern writing center
“To record life, to express.”
northeastern writing center
“To convey issues that affect a local and global community.”
northeastern writing center
“Because #puns.”
northeastern writing center
“Because they tell me to.”
northeastern writing center
“Because it always feels right!”
northeastern writing center
“For relaxation <3!”
northeastern writing center
“To organize and communicate my thoughts!”
northeastern writing center
“I write because if I don’t I fail my English class.”
northeastern writing center
“I can’t not create.”
northeastern writing center
“To get my thoughts down.”
northeastern writing center
“I love telling stories.”
northeastern writing center
“To get a good grade!”
northeastern writing center
“I write for Paul.”
northeastern writing center
“To express emotion of life.”
northeastern writing center
“To make a difference.”
northeastern writing center
“To get things done.”
northeastern writing center
“Because it helps me get to a place I hope the world would be like.”
northeastern writing center
“I write because through writing I can find my true self.”
northeastern writing center
“Because I love writing poetry!”
northeastern writing center
“I write because I want everyone to enjoy their life!”
northeastern writing center
“To express my thoughts…probably.”
northeastern writing center
“To ease the mind” and “to remember.”

northeastern writing center

northeastern writing center
“creative expression.”
northeastern writing center
“I write to discover what I didn’t know I could say.”
northeastern writing center
“Because I need to practice.”
northeastern writing center
“To inspire!”
northeastern writing center
“I write because…society tells me to.”
northeastern writing center
“I write to make sense of my thoughts.”
northeastern writing center
“I write because I’m told to.”
northeastern writing center
“I like writing because it helps societies advance and because it helps me express my feelings.”
northeastern writing center
“I write because my grades depend on it.”

northeastern writing center

northeastern writing center
“Writing is dreaming”

northeastern writing center

northeastern writing center
“I write to learn about myself.”
northeastern writing center
“I write to convey.”
northeastern writing center
“I write because I need to text the girls.”

northeastern writing center

northeastern writing center
“To share experience.”
northeastern writing center
“I write to express and not to impress.”
northeastern writing center
“I write to live a semi-independent life through the written word.”
northeastern writing center
“I write to communicate.”

northeastern writing center

Leave a Reply

